Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ? about kayaks and inflatable pontoons

Post Thanks / Like

Default ? about kayaks and inflatable pontoons

I am in the process of looking for a small watercraft I can use on the small & skinny water in my area - ponds, slow moving streams, etc - mainly for fishing craps, 'gills and LM bass.

I've pretty much narrowed 'it' down to being a kayak or an inflatable pontoon - but based only on what I've seen / read, etc - I have no experience w/ either, and I don't know anyone who has either type.

So do any of you have either of these? I am looking for info any type - likes/dislikes, model names, accessories to get, weight, portability, fishability, things you would do differant if you could do it over, etc.

I am figuring on a budget of $5-600.

Many thanks

UG

PS I didn't think to use Search - so if this type of info already has been posted, I apologize. My bad....
    Last edited by Uncle Grump; 01-23-2010 at 09:08 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

I have had both and I am sitting here trying to decide which I liked better. I have sold both of mine because I prefer to use my Crawdad for the rivers, but if I had to buy one again, I would get another yak.

Look at the Tarpon 100 or 120. I had the 100 and it worked just fine and is a little more maneuverable than the 120. It also had places for rod holders, adjustable footpegs and has 3 Phase seating. The seat is very nice.

Take a look at them.
    Tarpon - Wilderness Systems Kayaks

If you have any ??? shoot me a PM and I will try to answer them.

Post Thanks / Like

I would consider a canoe over a kayak...
    I have no experience with inflatables.
    A jon boat / alluminum flat bottom in 10' is another option.

Post Thanks / Like