Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: A couple of questions

Post Thanks / Like

Question A couple of questions

This is my first attempt at winter time fishing and have a couple of questions for you guys who have been crappie fishing a lot longer than I have. First, I have heard that crappie migrate up river during the winter, therefore is it a waste of time to fish the lower half of the lake. I fish primarily Percy Priest near Nashville, TN. Second, from what I have read ledges and drop offs on the river channel and primary creeks seems to be the ticket. I mainly fish brush piles and this would be new to me.

There may be posts that talk about these two things, but I have not done a search. If anybody can point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

Post Thanks / Like

Hey Tryhull:

If anything the crappie in our deep reservoirs move back out of the creek arms closer to the main channel and deeper water in the winter, compared to where they are in the fall. We fish for them about the same depth in the winter - after the Fall Feeding Frenzy is over - as we do in the hot summer time after the post spawn is over. Even if they aren't all that deep they seem to like to be close to deep water in the winter and summer here.
    FISH ON!
    Jerry Blake

www.BLAKETOURS.com

Post Thanks / Like