Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rod Questions

Post Thanks / Like

Default Rod Questions

I am new to crappie equipment and was wondering, What type, length, and brand crappie poles would you use for flippin or pitchin banks for spring crappie? Where would you buy these rods online?
    Crappie Fishing- Lots of Run...Sun...Fun...Catch a Ton...Or Didn't Get None!

Jigging15 is offline Moderator MO OT and MO Tournaments * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I am by no means the norm on this subject but I use my 10' Ozarks for pitching to the bank in spring time. I just take of the small bait cast reels and put on a Quantum Optix reel and I am in bussiness. Before I found the Ozark rods I always used the Quantum "Todd Huckabee" series 9' rod for this. Most guys here on Truman will use 7' and 8' Ozark and Outlaw rods. They both can be bought in the Truman area at a number of bait shops and tackle stores. I will stick with the 10'.

Post Thanks / Like

Default rod question

Jared: Have you used B&M poles? When I bought my War eagle Predator crappie boat, the company sent me 3 B&M poles. two ten foot jiggin poles and one 12 foot trolling pole that is now an 11 footer thanks to a walleye that broke it while I was fightin him. I was wondering if there is much difference in action/stiffness between those type poles and some of the ones you and others on crappie.com are mentioning they use?
    Crappie Fishing- Lots of Run...Sun...Fun...Catch a Ton...Or Didn't Get None!

Post Thanks / Like

We use 7 ft spinning to pitch & flip with. Although we dont do it that often. We usually dip the banks with 10 ft rods.

Jigging15 is offline Moderator MO OT and MO Tournaments * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like