Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Question 2 on sonar??????

Cane Pole is offline Crappie.com 2011 Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Question 2 on sonar??????

I can't get a straight answer on this either. When you adjust the sensitivity of the sonar, are u adjusting the gain of the transmitter or the gain of the receiver? I called reps and got 2 different answers. Me, I think u just adjusting receiver gain (even with zoom). I base this on how ultrasound (air) works. Not sure. I too lazy too look up answers here....ha
    Member BS Pro-Staff and Billbob Pro-Staff
    Proud Member of Team Geezer... authorized by: billbob and "G"

Post Thanks / Like

I'm no expert but...changing the sensitivity = changing receiver gain makes sense to me...Seems if you changed the transmitter you would also need to change the transponder or it would give you a false reading.

bella is offline Moderator TX Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Post Thanks / Like

CP I don't think it is possibe to increase the sensitivity of the sonar, I mean aren't they all are operating at the full capacity they have all the time reqargless of make or model??

Therefore you are increaseing the sensitivity, which would logically be all you have the power to increase. Am I missing something here?
    JIM 1

"If you aren't Aijrborn, you are just another leg."

HydroGrafx Guest

The transmit strength does not change unless you have a sonar that you can select high or low output power (or in between). Most consumer sonars transmit at a constant strength or amplitude. Better survey grade sounders allow several output power choices.

Gain adjusts the sensitivity of the microphone (so to speak). It's like turning down your hearing aid when your wife is yelling at you.

P. Hahs

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by HydroGrafx