Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Biting at Watts Bar ...

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Arrow Biting at Watts Bar ...

Just got back from spending the weekend down on Watts Bar Lake, again. Took a couple of friends of mine, Carl & Lisa ... for their 2nd only trip to Watts Bar Lake, TN.
    Got there midday Fri ... went out and shot some docks - something they've never done before !! I had shown them how, at home, and left them to do some "backyard practice" for a couple of weeks. They did quite well, for total newbies, but the fish just didn't cooperate. We used Friday as a "water/area" elimination period. :D
    Come Sat morning, we got ready and headed out. We fished in front of some docks on the shore of Fooshee Peninsula. We caught quite a few, ranging in depth from 5ft to 25ft deep. We left the area with 18 keepers. Most were caught on Roadrunners in 5-12ft of water (casting), and Panfish Assassins in the 12-25ft depths (casting & Vertical Casting). Carl caught a nice bonus fish ... a 3lb Smallmouth ... on a Roadrunner head/plastic body combo. A quick picture was taken by his wife, Lisa, and the fish was returned to the lake. We were doing so good, at this particular spot, that we basically camped on it for the day ...LOL!! The "light and variable" winds were coming out of the NE at about 10-20mph, and I had to practically stand on the trolling motor, on med to high speed, just to stay in the general area.