Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Secrets of the Crappie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Secrets of the Crappie

Hey everyone,

I've been fishing for crappie with my father for several years now, and he's always talking about his "methods" "secrets" and whatnot when it comes to landing our maximum number of crappie.

Problem is, we rarely catch our max, and if we do it takes quite a while.

So a few days ago I stumbled upon this interesting book. At first I was somewhat skeptical but I decided to get it ! Some of the tricks and techniques in it are amazing. I would have never thought of them. And the science behind it is what really amazes me. Now I'm schooling my pops.:p:p

Check it out: crappie fishing pro

Has anyone else seen this? Im kinda embarrassed to say I didn't even know about this Dan Eggersterm guy.
    Last edited by CrappiePappy; 10-26-2009 at 09:28 AM.
    Hauling in the big ones!

Post Thanks / Like

There are no "secrets" to catchng any breed of fish. You just target one species of fish then research what biologists say about that species. That information leads to catching more fish. The other way to learn is to follow popular methods discovered over time. Some are ethical while others aren't.

To me the fun of fishing isn't just catching fish. It's more about the process of getting to know the fish, the body of water, and the equipment.

If you truely want to enjoy fishing treat it as a journey instead of a goal. If all you want are fish just use a big honking net and be done with it.
    "Our greatest happiness does not depend on the condition of life in which chance has placed us, but is always the result of a good conscience, good health, occupation, and freedom in all just pursuits." - Thomas Jefferson

Post Thanks / Like

True enough Pomoxis. I am not saying I found a treasure trove of secrets that I can bust out to catch them like crazy.