Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Vertical Jiggin' a dock - I learned it here!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Vertical Jiggin' a dock - I learned it here!

Hey Guys

I have read, read, read, and read some more on this sight and finally it paid off a little last night. Here in Iowa, the temps are hardly touching the 50's, and when I was out fishing last night from 4:00 PM - 7:30 PM it probably was hardly in the 40's! Not sure what the water temp is but after trying a few spots I found the fish!

I'm a bit of a rookie but I started off throwing a road running off of the jettie on the west side of the lake which is very weedy. Wish I had a bobber/minnow set up! Got one big hit and nothing else. Drove to the west side of the lake and tried a jettie where we've had success before. This time I was shootin' bobber w/ Chartruese jig head w/ a black/white tube - then switched to a red/white tube. Still wasn't getting a thing.

Walked over to the dock right next to the boat ramp with the same set up (which I'll not use a bobber the next time) and started jiggin' straight down next to the dock. If only I had a quick reaction time in that 40 degree weather I could caught some fish! I had hit after hit, most likely little guys. I pulled one black crappie up and man, let me tell you, it was a monster! All 5 inches of him! Had no luck after that, still had the hits but I'm used to bass fishing there they hit, hit, hit, hit and you get more than one chance to set the hook!

Right before I left I had a really really strong hit as well. Hooked the guy and was pullin' him up outa the water and SNAP, there goes the line, bobber goes floatin' away, and the fish, oh the fish got away too! It was going to be a decent crappie I believe!