Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Enid Lake Crappie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Enid Lake Crappie

i dont have a boat and usually fish at plum point beach or wallace creek along the banks. Is there any luck catching crappie from the banks? I see guys in boats catching about 30 fish in 3-4 hours when i cant get i single bite. I have been using these little feathery looking jigs from walmart. Maybe it is my jig. What do you think, jig, location, need a boat, or a combo of these?

Post Thanks / Like

Good to hear post from others on here. Are you new to the forum? If so welcome and I hope you learn alot. I am not a pro at catching these speckle fish but I love to fish for them and I am always open to learn new techniques on doing just that. In my opinion you dont need a boat to catch crappie however it sure helps especially when they are staging on a ledge or sudden drop off a couple of hundred yards away from the bank your fishing from. You never know where there going to be from day to day(ex-weather conditions, water temps, water clarity) all play a role. Not to mention what you cant see from the bank lurking under the water (ex- stump field, stake beds, condos, sunken tops) all could be the differance why they were catching fish and you werent. You mentioned bait selection which is also very important(ex-jigs, jigs and minnows, jigs and nibbles, crankbaits, spoons, spinnerbaits or the go to bait a plain minnow) I am sure I left something out but all have a place at a given time. I tried berkley nibbles for the first time this year back when the water temps were so high and I was sold on them. It seemed as long the water temps stayed high the nibbles along with tube jigs or hair would catch the crappie until the water temps started fallen a bit and now I dont do as good. Jig selection esp. color of jig to me is very important only to the body of water you are fishing. A good color at Enid may not produce at Sardis which may be because of wate