Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Trolling

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling

Hello, i have been crappie fishing all my life but Im new to crappie.com and to trolling. I understand the concept of trolling but i am wondering how you know how deep your lures are running?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling Fast and Slow Jigs and Crankbaits

I slow troll for crappie using jigs and a drop shot weight. I go about 0.5 mph or less using the electric trolling motor to maintain position over a brush pile or a drop off. I fish vertically and at a depth down to 26ft or so. The lake I fish has a thermocline in the summertime so the fish stay above the thermocline as there is not much dissolved oxygen below the thermcline. So therefore I only fish above the thermcline. Most of the fish are along dropoffs where there is some wood.