PDA

View Full Version : barometric pressure

abarkley
10-03-2005, 06:01 PM
as far as an exact number that adversely affects fishing, what do some of you consider as high pressure on the barometer.

Mo'nBack
10-03-2005, 06:37 PM
I feel it's just like deer hunting, whereas I don't like to see it above 30, and I would like to see it falling anytime I hunt or fish. But I don't let that or the phase of the moon stop me from going when I can. I even crappie fish during east winds, like I'll do tomorrow, and I hardly ever catch fish during a east wind. I don't think there is a magic number on the barometer, especially since the only effect we can have is whether we go or not. I'm not an expert on the barometer or how it affects fish, so please don't let this keep you from forming your own conclusions about it. Hope this helps.

abarkley
10-03-2005, 06:42 PM
I feel it's just like deer hunting, whereas I don't like to see it above 30, and I would like to see it falling anytime I hunt or fish. But I don't let that or the phase of the moon stop me from going when I can. I even crappie fish during east winds, like I'll do tomorrow, and I hardly ever catch fish during a east wind. I don't think there is a magic number on the barometer, especially since the only effect we can have is whether we go or not. I'm not an expert on the barometer or how it affects fish, so please don't let this keep you from forming your own conclusions about it. Hope this helps.

i've fished the high pressure days along with the east wind days myself, and i can tell the difference most definitely. the fish seem to almost lay on the stumps or any other structure for that matter when the pressure is "high". it makes for a long and frustrating day sometimes.

Mo'nBack
10-03-2005, 06:54 PM