Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Looking for Old Hickory advice

Post Thanks / Like

Default Looking for Old Hickory advice

I'm new to crappie fishing. This past spring, I had no problems locating crappie during the spawn. Now, I can't seem to find them. Are crappie found in the main lake this time of year or are they in the creeks? Do they prefer channels or should I fish along bluffs. I have been fishing deep boat docks with submerged brush and some of the deeper points in the creeks with no luck. I know nothing about jigs, therefore I'm limit myself to minnows.

What's it gonna take for me to catch a crappie this time of year?

fiddlefarter is offline Moderator Crappie Cover Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Mt. Juliet, TN...Percy Priest Lake/Old Hickory Lake
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Matt Smith

What's it gonna take for me to catch a crappie this time of year?
    ...Going to another lake. LOL. I been trying to find the fish over there since last Thursday. I went Thur, Fri, Sun, and today (Mon). Now keep in mind that the week days were just an hour or 2 after work and I had an emergency and only got to fish about 2 hrs Sunday. But my mind tells me they are somewhere around the massive amount of shad covering the lake. But I think there are so many shad, that the fish could be anywhere. I have to believe that they are still close to deep water(78 degree surface temp), chasing shad on a flat nearby. But the only ones I have caught have been about 6" long and there haven't been many. I just think they're real scattered right now. I think the Crappiemasters tournament next week is going to be real tough on them guys. But someone will find them. I just want to know how and where they do. I believe the guys will have to cover some water to find them.
    Ya ain't holdin' your mouth right.

Post Thanks / Like