Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What few colors best for jigs?

Post Thanks / Like

Default What few colors best for jigs?

I am new to using jigs and would like to know what some of yall think the best say 5 or 6 colors for jigs are. I fish the lower Alabama and Tombigbee rivers and the sloughs and lakes off these. The water runs from clear to muddy depending on rain. Any info would be nice.

Post Thanks / Like

Any color is fine as long as it's chartreuse!:D
    Carl's Guide Service
    Sardis Lake
    Enid Lake
    Grenada Lake
    901-734-7536

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Wink Imho ...

Quote Originally Posted by Allday View Post
    I am new to using jigs and would like to know what some of yall think the best say 5 or 6 colors for jigs are. I fish the lower Alabama and Tombigbee rivers and the sloughs and lakes off these. The water runs from clear to muddy depending on rain. Any info would be nice.
    ... and what I generally use, are the following :

in plastic bodies -
    Lime green/ chartreuse
    blue/char (silver flake in the blue is optional - commonly called "Electric blue")
    yellow/chartreuse
    solid chartreuse
    purple/pink (with chartreuse tail it's commonly called "popsicle")
    junebug/chartreuse
    (most any body color with a chartreuse tail is always a viable option)

hair/feather jigs :

solid white
    solid chartreuse
    solid pink

But, you know ... considering the variety of these colors, and the variety of colors that others have mentioned before, I'm not sure there's a color or color combination that won't work :p .... provided, of course, that you get the jig in the fish's face