Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to Truman lake and new to crappie fishing

Post Thanks / Like

Default New to Truman lake and new to crappie fishing

My Dad just bought a place on Truman lake. We've fished for catfish on lakes and rivers my whole life but I would love to switch to crappie fishing and switch him as well. I've been reading these forums for several months now and have learned a lot. I was able to get out last weekend and fish some standing timber. Caught 5 nice crappie in a couple of hours. I was very happy with my first outing but I just felt a little lost out there. I tied up to some trees and dipped around for 5 to 10 minutes per tree. It was quite a hassle to tie and untie all of the time. Do you all tie up or just troll around the edges? I'm also new to running a trolling motor so thats why I tied up so I would not keep beating the boat into the branches. It was also very akward to get the boat lined up so we could both reach the tree. Any and all tips would be appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to the site. I usually don't tie up because I feel that it may make the larger fish or most of the fish move off the tree due to the boat pulling on the tree. I like to fish the entire tree so I just work around it or if its not that big of a tree I'll just fish the entire tree from one location. As for getting you and your dad on the same tree have him fish the front of the boat next to you. Just my two pennies! Again welcome to the site.
    "If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles."

Dave

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to CDC. I like to use the trolling motor and just get close enough to reach the tree. A little practice and you will have it down. I also would have your partner fish next to you in the front to dip trees or you can work out a plan where you fish one side and your partner fishes the other as you are going by trees.