Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: ODNR Online Survey Results

Post Thanks / Like

Default ODNR Online Survey Results

Post Thanks / Like

OK, now they have our opinions. What will they do with it? My bet is they leave the current restrictions on the lakes that have them and do nothing to change the other lakes. I have always supported a 9" limit, but after the last few times out and all the 6"ers I've caught, maybe it'd be better to get some of the small ones out. I say bring in a slot limit for lakes with large crappie populations with a lot of small fish. Like East Fork. Maybe 11"-14" or whatever you have to throw them back. Try it for a few years and see what happens. Maybe more of the tater chips will get kept that way and give the others more chance to get big. BUT, I'm no expert. Just a crazy idea.

By the way, I went to East Fork for a couple hours yesterday evening before the storm ran me and my oldest boy off the lake. We caught plenty of crappie, but the majority were of the 6"-8" black variety. Had to weed through a lot of dinks to find any decent fish. The lake was about 4'-5' high and rising. The dock at the dam ramp was almost gone. I'm sure it's way up there today. Most the fish we caught were 6'-8' deep in 10'-15' of water, some shallower. None deeper. Couldn't get those deep fish to bite. Maybe because of rising water or being between storm fronts......or both.? We did manage a few over 10" and one at 12", but not even enough to make it worth filleting them.
    Bob's Jigs Prostaff
    www.bobsjigs.com

Post Thanks / Like

Deep fish???? you must be talking Goldmine!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Default 2008 Survey

These are from the 2008 online survey, not the results from the survey this year, takin on the water.

Post Thanks / Like

Public Comment Welcomed On Wildlife Issues
    Akron, Athens, Columbus, Findlay, Port Clinton and Xenia locations available