Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Walleye newb questions

Post Thanks / Like

Default Walleye newb questions

Hi y'all,

I am new to walleye fishing but fish a lake that has them stocked. I bought a couple of trolling rods/reels and some walker divers (like dipsy divers, only cheaper :P) but still haven't had any success. I've trolled spoons, crawler harnesses, spinners, and crankbaits to no avail. I have caught wipers, crappie, and even a blue cat while trolling. I'm sure I could just be fishing where the walleye aren't at and that could be part of the problem, but I have a few questions about my setup.

1) I am currently using 50# braided line on my trolling rods tied to the divers to help reduce snapping the line on snags (works wonders so far). I have about a 6-7' leader of 10# spiderwire super mono running to my lures. My first question is, will the 50# line cause issues with the walleye due to it's visibility, even though it's not attached to the lure?

2) I have read that walleye inhale their bait instead of swimming up and biting it. Is there a trick I can use to increase the chance of a trailing walleye having the ability to suck in the bait? I know trolling in an S pattern helps vary speeds, I just wonder about how much slack needs to be in the line for walleye to easily take a bait, and how to achieve that without holding the rods in hand.

3) I don't know what else to ask, but I'm sure I'm missing something... do you know what it is? :D

Thanks in advance for your expert opinions!

Post Thanks / Like

I'll even take amature opinions if it will get y'all to start talking! lol :D

Post Thanks / Like

you may want to try and post your question on one of the walleye forums,walleye central has been pretty good for me, and it would help to know whereabouts you are located, (even if you do not want to give up the exact lake name)