Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: explain fishing line?

Post Thanks / Like

Default explain fishing line?

Hi all, I am fairly new to fishing, but I need information on line. I have been reading about stretching line...is that good or bad......memory on line....good or bad?

I am also having problems casting my 6# test line on an ultra light spinning reel. The line goes everywhere and cannot cast with any kind of wind? What am I doing wrong?

Thanks! Patti

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by peke View Post
    I have been reading about stretching line...is that good or bad......memory on line....good or bad?

Mono has a good bit of stretch. Braid has almost none. Stretch is kind of a built-in "shock absorber". This can be helpful if you're fighting a big fish near the breaking limit of the line. Line with little or no stretch transmits bites better. I generally use mono but use braid for certain situations.

Memory is bad. It means the line wants to retain the shape of the spool, so it will come off in coils when casting. Limp lines are better.

I am also having problems casting my 6# test line on an ultra light spinning reel. The line goes everywhere and cannot cast with any kind of wind? What am I doing wrong?

Could be a lot of things: cheap line, cheap reel, reel too small, line too big. It also sounds like you may have too much line on the spool. Can you give us more details?

Post Thanks / Like

Stretch = not as quick to break...a little give. No stretch = easier to feel when you get a bite, but breaks. Did I understand right?

Pflueger #6725 spinning reel...supposed to hold 180/2 lbs, 115/4 lbs , and 80/6 lbs. (yards). Don't know what kind of line it was, just 6 lb. When I would cast into my pond, the lure would go where I wanted it, but the line would "sail" with the wind. It kept ending up in the pasture or tangled up. I don't know how much line is on the reel, but it doesn't look like too much.