Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: tree dippin question?

Post Thanks / Like

Default tree dippin question?

when dippin trees, do you use a single jig or double jig?

after i first learned about double jigging, i started double jigging all the time but am now thinking that 2 is not always better than 1. when i get into trees and get a bite, i'll get snagged on the other jig too often and am thinking that maybe a single jig is best for that.

i see spider rigs posted on here and wonder how you all fish those, single or double jigs? do you use those type of rigs only in open water or in-between trees too? my "spider rig" is just laying 3 poles on the floor of the boat :-)

i have been putting crappie in the boat for about 22 years, but only took it real seriously about 2 years ago... figured i'd tap into the endless knowledge on this site.
    Why do I have to press 1 for English?

Jigging15 is offline Moderator MO OT and MO Tournaments * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I use 2 jigs about 85% of the time. I like it just to get the jig down to 10 ft faster and they will go straight down through the limbs when it is windy. I have been using one 1/4 oz instead of two 1/8 oz lately. I use braid so no worries about hanging up. I do a decent job with 2 jigs even in the cedars. I get a lot of how the hell do you do that when fishing cedars with 2 jigs. Just have to work them slow.

Post Thanks / Like

I use two jigs in open water and around hardwood and hedge trees, but I use only one 1/16 oz jig in the cedars, it's a lot easier for me to feel the limbs with one jig. When the crappie are hitting it on the drop I will change to one jig to slow the jig down.

Post Thanks / Like

I use one jig in the trees, and 2 on spider rigs or 2 pole trolling.
    Jim - Have boat - will travel.

Post Thanks / Like