Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: OB Waterpump

silverside is offline Crappie.com 2K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Default OB Waterpump

I have a 1984 Evinrude 40HP. It has hardly any hours on the motor. I'd say less than 75. It has been sitting outside for about 10 years without being started. I suppose that the impeller is trashed. How hard is this to fix? I have been fixing everything on my cars for 35 years so I know my way around a set of wrenches. Is this a big job? I can't imagine that it is.

Post Thanks / Like

Not hard at all, but I advise you to buy a service manual or get specific intructions somewhere.

Post Thanks / Like

Those little engines are cake. Only thing you might run into is the driveshaft being stuck in the bottom of the powerhead when you go too drop the lower unit. Basicly, remove all the bolts holding the l/u on and undo the shift rod if it has a coupling, not sure on your engine. Have the engine tilted up so the lower unit will slide all the way off, and just slide it out of the midsection. Take the little pump cover off, usually fout bolts, and just slide it up over the shaft. Just be sure to get the key back in the new one. Put some soap in the cover and spin it clockwise over the new impeller as you are putting it back on, this sets the rotation on the impeller. The main thing you want to do is make sure the tube going up goes into the little tower on the pump cover. This is where it sends the water to the engine. Also put a little grease on the shaft splines, only on the side of them, not on top of the shaft. Slide it back up, if it will not go all the way up, just spin the flywheel by hand to line the splines up again.

rnvinc is offline Crappie.com 2016 Man of the Year * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm not sure about your year motor but I had to remove the starter from my '94 to get to the bolt that connects the shift rod under the powerhead....