Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which spinning reel?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Which spinning reel?

Good to be on the site..I'm new to crappie fishing so some basic questions. I'm planning to use 4 lb and/or 6lb mono with a medium light fast action rod. Any problems with using a Team Lou Custom Pro 2000 spinning reel?

Post Thanks / Like

I stumbled across an Okuma RTX 25. It’s a nice reel, and super light weight. I liked it so well that now I have 4 or 5 of them in size 25 and 30. They run a little smaller than most, by the size number. The bad part is that they are discontinued, but still lots of them on EBay.
    Tracker Panfish 16

Bonafide EX123 Kayak
    Likes marku LIKED above post

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

How long is the rod ?

Does the reel balance the rod ? (If you're considering using the outfit to cast with)

What method are you intending to use with this outfit ?

(*what I mean by "balance the rod" is ... if you can stick your finger out and place the rod/reel on that finger at the very front end of the handle & it will balance there. If the rod drops quickly towards the handle end or tip end, it's not balanced. But, if it slowly tilts towards the handle end, that's OK. You just don't want the rod to tilt fast towards the tip end, as that would result in excess pressure on your wrist & forearm with any sustained time of use. If it's "slowly" tilting towards the tip end, then you might get away with using it ... but any rapid drop towards the tip end is a red flag that the reel isn't heavy enough to counter balance the length of the rod.)
    Likes marku LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by CrappiePappy View Post
    How long is the rod ?

Does the reel balance the rod ? (If you're considering using the outfit to cast with)

What method are you intending to use with this outfit ?