HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Loving Arkansas

Post Thanks / Like

Default Loving Arkansas

Start with a background. I've been "White Perch or sacalait fishing my entire life, mainly the same three lakes in Louisiana, mostly spider rigging. My last boat before we retired to Hot Springs Village was an Excel 210.
    Never been "crappie fishing". In other words I haven't wet a line in Arkansas. I just bought a used boat, other than a good down/side scanner I kept everything else.
    Excited to explore but it is a little overwhelming. I'm used to fishing lakes that are chocolate milk an 18' or less, so I am a newbie to fishing here.
    Any advice on where to start?
    Any advice on a side/down scanner stern mount that will continue to work after you plane out? I want to find some of the brush piles you put out. Lol

Sent from my iPad using Crappie.com Fishing mobile app
    Likes Redge, Pondfisher42 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to the site from Batesville. All I can say about your electronics is that bigger is better. It's hard to see some details that are important when you share the screen with down imagining, side imaging, and charting. So go big. I love my Lowrance touch screen. Then spend a lot of time learning to use it. I think people often times spend money on good equipment but won't stop fishing long enough to learn how to use it to improve their fishing results. I personally fish new lakes by myself the first time or two because if I have someone with me I feel pressured to start fishing right away and not spend 2 or 3 hours scanning looking for productive fishing areas first. Hopefully others will chime in and help you out some. I'm not too familiar with the lakes near the village. Good luck.

Bobby McGaha
    3250 Harrison St. Ste. 300
    Batesville, AR 72501
    870-612-5300