HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 5 of 18 FirstFirst ... 234567815 ... LastLast

Thread: Who make the best deep cycle battery?

Post Thanks / Like

I have been useing the exide naut gold's 4 of them for the pst 7 years,
    they are still going strong, i keep them charged up after each trip and they spend all winter in my boat stored outside with only a boat cover for protection.
    so all in all I think its how you care for them in the end that determains how they last and perform

hooks sharp and reels full

Corker is offline Crappie.com 1K Star General - Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by short grub View Post
    its how you care for them in the end that determines how they last and perform
    Very true. Care begins on the water. By using 4 batteries, you are spreading the wear & tear that would otherwise kill a single battery (12v TM) or pair of batteries (24v.) The backup batteries allow you to switch before discharging the first battery (or pair) too deeply. Deep discharge reduces a battery's life expectancy--measured in charge/discharge cycles, not years. Calendar years may be important from the budget perspective, but number of cycles (fishing trips) is a better way to judge the true value of a battery.

When I ran a 12v TM, I got about 100 trips out of a WalMart deep cycle marine battery that cost less than $90. Convenience, warranty, and a cost-per-trip of $0.90 seal the deal for me!
    Thanks D Morrow thanked you for this post

Post Thanks / Like

Interstate Megatron. I have been using the SR-27 for years. I have 2 deep cycle and 1 cranking and they have all lasted over 5 years. I charge them as soon as I get off the water and keep them full of water.

Post Thanks / Like

What do you guys think about the Optima batteries? Considering buying a couple blue tops????????????

Post Thanks / Like