Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Outboard motor question

Post Thanks / Like

Default Outboard motor question

Hi everyone. I have a 1998 Force by Mercury, 75hp. Now I'm not a super mechanical type of guy, but I do keep the lower unit oil changed, keep good plugs in it, use stabil when it's down for a while, all that. So here's my question.

On the back of the outboard, just below where the cover is, on the thin part of the motor, there is a hole. I'm not sure if it's an exhaust outlet or what, but I'm sure you all know the hole I'm talking about. Well here's what's happening. After a day on the lake, I notice that a thick oily sludge is dripping out of this hole. It's more noticeable in the winter because it's thicker, and stays on there. In the summer much of it washes away. But in cold weather, it's a thick little line of what looks like oil sludge coming down out of that hole.

Is this normal? Or is this something I need to be concerned about? The motor runs fine. Very responsive and idles OK. It's always been a little tricky to start, but other than that it runs fine.

Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like you are talking about the exhaust. This is normal on older engines. Might be a little rich, but if it is running fine and not fouling plugs I would not worry about it.

Post Thanks / Like

OK, that makes sense. It probably is running rich, it's a dog to start sometimes, and I have not had anything done to the carbs in the 8 years that I've owned it.

Post Thanks / Like

Run some Sea Foam in it and see if it helps. The carbs are very basic. Just get a shop manual and rebuild them if need be. I would have the kits and carb cleaner in hand before teardown. Might want to do the fuel pump while you are at it.

Post Thanks / Like

sounds like it could be oil you've spilled over the years pooling and finally building up enough to seep out. motor running fine? look for something simple

Post Thanks / Like