Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Outboard oil

PawPaw Gene is offline Crappie.com 2012 Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Outboard oil

Whats y'all opinion on outboard oil. I've a 2 cycle Yamaha and I got caught low on oil. I bought a gallon of pennzoil for a backup just in case I run out on my trip this morning. I've only been running yama oil since new. Yama oil is 18 dollars a gal. and Pennsoil is 13 dollars. Should there be any problem if I have to mix the oils together. The container says meets the spec. for Yamaha, and all the other major engines. Thanks for any insight.
    "gene"
    "G" Gone but not forgotten!!

Post Thanks / Like

You'll be just fine.The only difference in the oil today is the price.I alway's use quicksilver but if I cant find it Ill put anything in when in a bind.

Etowah, Tn. foothills to the Smokey Mountains
    Post Thanks / Like

Default I'm no mechanic but-

I'll share with you some info that I have come upon lately. The main thing is making sure the oil will mix with the gas you are using. I have a friend who is a small engine and outboard mechanic who says that in the last 2 years there are more and more breakdowns being brought into the shop and it is because of the ethanol that is being added to gas by different companys. some have it some don't but most will eventually go to it. He advised me to start using synthetic oil which will mix with the ethanol. So you be the judge

Don G is offline Crappie.com Legend * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I guess I'm crazy but I use nothing but Yamalube 2M in my Yamaha 115 2 stroke...The 2M is semi-synthetic & Yamaha assures me that it will mix with Ethanol..

I wish I could find it for $18.00..I'm paying $36.00 at Gander Mtn...
    USS Intrepid CVS-11 Helicopter Squadron-3 1960-1964

When I keep my gratitude higher than my expectations I have a good day