Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Long Rods

Post Thanks / Like

Default Long Rods

I've never used a long rod before always had 6-6'6". I am a bank fisherman unfortunately but I pick my spots and do alright considering. There were some times this year that I could have killed 'em in the flooded brush if I just had a little more reach. I am looking to get a long rod and need some recommendations. I don't think I want to go longer than 12' . That Pro angler 10' looks like a great rod I just don't know if it would be long enough to make a big difference. 10 or 12 what do y'all think?

Post Thanks / Like

I dont recommend the Pro angler for jigging in hand. Its a bit heavy. Good trolling rods though. I dont care for the B&M jig poles either. Got a 10'er. Guides are too small for my liking to get good line flow. My $0.02

Post Thanks / Like

Long pole jigging is my favorite method of all. I have both B&M and Wally Marshall poles and both are 11 feet. The B&M is lighter, but the WM has a stiffer spine. 11' seems to be the right lenght for me. They're great for walking a riprap bank and dropping a jig between the gaps and around brush. I have a boat, but a lot of times I'll park it and walk down the bank with my long poles.

Not trying to differ with you Treed, and while I agree the guides are narrow on the B&M, I've never had a problem with them. I just hand-feed the amount of line for the depth I want to fish.

If you get one make sure you are careful with it. They're more delicate than shorter, casting type poles. Good luck.
    Mistah Kurtz - he dead
    A penny for the Old Guy

Post Thanks / Like

I have problems with slip cork stops going through the guides, as sometimes wet mono sticking to a dry rod if the line is fresh and hasnt 'broke' in so to speak. Idk if its because im only using 1/32 or what. Not a bad rod tho, just hate the small guides.

Post Thanks / Like