Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need rod holder advice PLEASE

Post Thanks / Like

Default Need rod holder advice PLEASE

Heres the deal I am new to the spider rigging thing. I need a rod holder that will work in my Bass Tracker style bass boat (typical front and rear decks) and on a pontoon boat. I will be using it 90% of the time for crappie fishing. and the other 10% for drift fishing for catfish. So I need a rod holder that will adjust and let me angle the poles down for crappie, so the rod tips are just over the water, and angle up for drift fishing for river cats. I would also like one that has the abiltity to move the height of the support up and down again so I can set it at the ideal height in both boats
    I have seen the driftmaster and it looks like a kids erector set and I just cant tell by looking at the 10,000 peices they sell you if it will satisfy my needs. The busy bee looks great but doesent look like it will adjust up or down like I want. I need some help guys. Any advice would sure be appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Gooch,

I just went through the same deal. I ended up going with six Tite-Lok square rail mounts on my Pontoon. I did not want a "Tee" bar because I didn't want my holders out beyond the railing, and I also didn't want to have to build some half-as*ed deal so I could swivel them down. The Tite-Loks works very well and I can put the rods in the water if I wish.

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by VietVet68
    Gooch,

I just went through the same deal. I ended up going with six Tite-Lok square rail mounts on my Pontoon. I did not want a "Tee" bar because I didn't want my holders out beyond the railing, and I also didn't want to have to build some half-as*ed deal so I could swivel them down. The Tite-Loks works very well and I can put the rods in the water if I wish.