Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any electricians aboard?

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Any electricians aboard?

I have to have a new septic field installed and they require 2 circuits for the pump. The pumps calls for 12-2 wire and the alarm 14-2. I will be coming out of my breaker box, thru the attic, then out the eaves into a piece of conduit. Can I use just regular romex for this or should I use wire rated for outdoors use?
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like

Just because you'll have it encased in conduit doesn't mean it will be completely out of any kind of moisture. I am not an electrician, but would think an outdoor line would be better. I bet Tom would know.
    Reaper, Where Fish come to Fry

Cane Pole is offline Crappie.com 2011 Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by IBNFSHN View Post
    I have to have a new septic field installed and they require 2 circuits for the pump. The pumps calls for 12-2 wire and the alarm 14-2. I will be coming out of my breaker box, thru the attic, then out the eaves into a piece of conduit. Can I use just regular romex for this or should I use wire rated for outdoors use?
    Check your local building codes Bill. NEC has non specific codes in this area. Also check on ground fault. New code requirements for outside stuff. I can't be specific because it is local codes that matter. I forgot a lot too.
    Member BS Pro-Staff and Billbob Pro-Staff
    Proud Member of Team Geezer... authorized by: billbob and "G"

Post Thanks / Like

I would use underground because it may build a little moisture. Plus its easier to do it once instead of twice.
    FISH-ON!!!!!

Post Thanks / Like