Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Want to catch more fish?????

Post Thanks / Like

Default Want to catch more fish?????

It involves time, patience, and dedication. I have been writing a fishing log everytime I fish from a boat in the past 4 years. I use a 3-ring binder and add notebook paper when needed. I have my log book broken down into Months (Jan, Feb, etc..) to start with. Then I use the following categories in this order. Lake, Water Temp, Wind Direction, Wind Speed, Clarity of Sky, Time of 1st Catch, Bait/Lure (color), Depth, Structure, Type of Presentation and total # of fish caught. I write down when I have bad days as well. I am not a professional guide or fisherman. But I promise anyone that reads this you will spend a lot less time looking for fish once you establish a good log book for 1 season. I won't wet a line until I review my book and find the situation I ran into that matches the conditions. I find it easiest to use the months as my main category. If I am fishing in March, I flip to March and try to find matching situations to the conditions of that day. You might be surprised how well this works. Once I got used to writing in the book, it doesn't take about 5 minutes out of the day to complete a log. My friends used to laugh at me for being too scientific about fishing. Now they call me when they are on the lake, not catching anything and want me to look the conditions up for them. I noticed just today that my total # of fish caught has increased every year. I think you will find this to be true if you try it yourself. This might be one of the biggest secrets I know to catching more fish. Does anyone else keep log books? If so, how long have you been keeping it?
    Caught so many fish today my thumb is sore from clicking the counter.

Post Thanks / Like