Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Stupid question, How to rig BNM pole???

Post Thanks / Like

Default Stupid question, How to rig BNM pole???

Picked up a 12 foot Bnm pole today and was wondering the best way to set it up for drowning minnows. I understand not to tie the line to the eye, but that's about it. I grew up fishing with real cane poles with extra line just wrapped around them, ties and a piece of electric tape to hold the line in place. These newfangled extension poles sure are nice! What do I do with the clips at the bottom?

Pardon my ignorance, but I'm getting back into real fishing, I've been bowfishing for 15 years, but want to try to catch a good mess of crappie. I've been lurking for a few weeks, great forum, seems like a good bunch of folks!

Thanks for your help!
    Eddy

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Cousneddy
    Picked up a 12 foot Bnm pole today and was wondering the best way to set it up for drowning minnows. I understand not to tie the line to the eye, but that's about it. I grew up fishing with real cane poles with extra line just wrapped around them, ties and a piece of electric tape to hold the line in place. These newfangled extension poles sure are nice! What do I do with the clips at the bottom?

Pardon my ignorance, but I'm getting back into real fishing, I've been bowfishing for 15 years, but want to try to catch a good mess of crappie. I've been lurking for a few weeks, great forum, seems like a good bunch of folks!

Thanks for your help!
    Eddy
    I run the line thru the eye and then secure it to the pole about an inch down using a uni knot. You can get away with about 13 ft of line on a 12 ft pole. Once collapsed, the line is wrapped around the clips. I usually have a styrofoam type bobber on so the hook or jig can be stuck in it for storage. That works for me with no problems.