Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Trolling question

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling question

I know its time for trolling to get good. I have a small boat not big enough for two in front or two in back. Has any one ever tried to do a spider rig off of front of the boat and long line off of back of the boat at the same time? I'm new to the whole experience and only tried trolling once off of the back and caught 5 when I did so. would like to take my son out and try again. Thanks in advance

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

You "could" spider rig or long line troll from both ends of the boat ... but, I'm not sure about long line trolling out the back while spider rigging out the front, for the simple reason of "speed" ... or actually the lack of it (for the long liner).

Spider rigging is usually done at a slow crawl, while long line trolling is done at higher rates of speed.

For explanation purposes only : consider these speeds to be "correct" -

Spider rig: 0.2 - 0.4mph
    Pushing jigs: 0.5 - 0.8mph
    Long line: 0.9 - 1.5mph
    Pulling cranks - 1.6 - 2.0mph

Now, that may be splitting hairs over the terminology of the methods you named, but I'm just trying to explain what my comments in the first paragraph mean.
    Likes bryanrutledge19 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Should have no problem. Just have to go fast enough that you long line poles stay off the bottom so that means you'll need enough weight on spider poles to keep them down. I long line out the front and stick a pole or two straight out the front of the boat spider rigging when the bite is slow.