Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bank fishing large ponds, lure help?!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Bank fishing large ponds, lure help?!

Hi all, I'm new to the forum but not new to fishing. However I am new to trying to get hooked on crappie fishing. I've always liked crappie, and I've caught many up to 16 inches. But most are by-catches during bass fishing. I fish a few different places with good crappies but one in particular is a very large pond. There's no real noticeable attractions for crappie to migrate to and I'm not able to add brush or anything. But there are definitely a lot of crappie and big ones. I know of a 17" and an 18" being caught and to be honest I'm sure there are crappie over 20" here. My biggest problem is I can't fish from a boat or kayak, it's not allowed, so bank fishing is my only option. ive been on a mission this year to catch a new personal best crappie and I've found myself usually just switching to bass fishing after the crappie bite is slow. I've been using slip floats and grubs with decent success but nothing to write home about. Would small crankbaits be a good idea? I can't troll them obviously but I can cast them. I've also been thinking about trying live minnows under a float but haven't wanted to spend the money on them yet since I have a really good feeling that the bass will probably just tear them up. Or will bass turn a blind eye? Thanks for any help guys, I know there's no one magic lure, but a technique I don't know about my be the ticket

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like