Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm a rookie looking for gear tips

Post Thanks / Like

Default I'm a rookie looking for gear tips

Hello, my name is Todd and i'm from central Alabama. I am 29 years old and have done very little fishing in my lifetime. I recently have gotten a huge desire to fish and I love the taste of Crappie. So I figure Crappie is the fish I want to catch. Almost all that I know about fishing is from what I have read online and in books over the past month. I'm looking for gear advice. What type of reel? Rod length? Live bait or lures? Any advice anyone can give to a brand new Crappie angler is welcome. Thanks!

RCC is offline Crappie.com Legend and Arkansas Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like

I assume at least at first, you will be bank fishing. I would start with a 6 to 7ft medium light rod with a high quality spinning reel with some 6lb test monofilament low memory line. This will allow you to cast a considerable distance. I would then take a few bucks each paycheck and head down to the local walmart and begin accumulating hooks, sinkers, floats, jigs and other artificial lures such as road runners and rooster tails. I would also become familiar with a slip float and how to use rig it. With that rig, you will be able to catch anything that swims in fresh water. Good luck and I hope in a few months you'll be coaching someone else on how to fish.

Welcome to crappie.com and you are in the right place if you want to learn to catch crappie.
    RCC's Crappie Eradication Service
    Eliminating your slab problems one fish at a time
    For free estimates give us a call at O U 812.
    Likes toddarmstrong LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like