Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1/16 or 1/8 jig heads ?

Post Thanks / Like

Default 1/16 or 1/8 jig heads ?

I'm kind of new to jig fishing,is the 1/8 more for deeper jigging and 1/16 for shallower ? Or is 1/8 more for bigger Crappie ? The Crappie I usally catch are 9"-12" on average. -Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

1/8 is used for deeper presentations but a 1/16 can be used just as deep, it will fall slower and stay in front of the fish longer. they will sometimes only take a smaller bait no matter what size the crappie. If the big one only ate larger baits we would all be useing 1/4 and 3/8. I like the 1/16 for an use anytime anywhere bait. you may hace to fish a little slower but if your tring not to get overwelmed with all the different baits on the market., just pick a few and stick with them.the bait you catch the most on will be the one you use the most

Post Thanks / Like

I'm a 1/16 crappie kinda guy.

2010 NWR Bash Crappie Division Champion

Post Thanks / Like

I use 1/32, or 1/16, or 1/8 ounce jig head. I have caught more Crappie on a 1/16 ounce, however there are days the others seem to work better.

If I am Jigging, I'll cut a lot of the lead off of the head for a slower presentation

My $.02
    Roy

Post Thanks / Like

When I get a mind to cast for crappie (seldom) I'll use an 1/8th ounce with a curly tail grub. When tightlining/pitching a jig with a long pole (99% of the time) I'll use 1/16th or 1/32nd. The 1/16th drops fast enough and is heavy enough to fish deep. It's also sufficient enough on rough days to stay in touch with your jig. On calmer days the 1/32 works great for a gradual fall and working it horizontally through or by a brushpile.