Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Map Reading for Crappie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Map Reading for Crappie

Although I've been fishin for crappie for quite a while, there's something I just don't get (or understand). While watching "Crappie Time" on TV the other day, Ron Capps and his wife were fishing on Lake Dardenell. Ron said he'd never fished that lake before, so before going he poured over a map. He picked out a few spots on the map and there was one he especially liked. He didn't go to that area he found on the map until the second day of the tourney and they both slayed some nice crappie. OK, finally my question. What exactly do you look at when searching a map of a lake? I understand looking for depth, but by itself that doesn't mean anything. What are the factors that go into picking a good spot just by looking at a map? Thanks for any helpful tips.
    GET THE NET HAROLD, GET THE NET!!

Post Thanks / Like

I am no expert but I would guess that a couple of things would be bridges and stump fields . Lanier and Oconee maps have the stump fields noted on them .

rnvinc is offline Crappie.com 2016 Man of the Year * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

If the lake has them, crappie follow creek channel ledges to and from their spring spawning shallows and again in the fall for their winter fattening stage...

Time of year (water temp) would dictate where the crappie should be on their migration route following those creek ledges...

Rickie
    www.podunkideas.com <--Click here
    ------------—————
    https://www.crappie-gills-n-more.com/
    https://cornfieldfishinggear.com/

------------------------>> Pro Staff Sonar Advisor

Post Thanks / Like

Edges of steep drop offs (the little contour lines get closer together = deeper)...
    "Teach a man to fish = he can feed himself "
    "Teach the world to fish = you won't have any fish left to eat "

gabowman is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter