Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Danger to dock shooters and others

Post Thanks / Like

Default Danger to dock shooters and others

This story was on th Nashville Tennessee news. This happened on Tims Ford lake but the same danger is on every lake with docks...We have lost 3 lives on Tims Ford in the last few years. I have limited knowledge of electricity and electrical circuits but from what I understand is that if there is a problem with the circuit and the dock is electrified and you touch the dock while grounded to the water ie alum boat you could be killed......99% of the docks that are on this lake are floating docks so they are insulated from the water......Im sure that some on this board are very knowledgeable on this subject so please add comments ...It could save someone life....The two that died in another incident were swimming and touched a dock that the ground fault had be shorted by lightening. Even though these docks are wired to code when built it only takes one lightening strike to short the GFCI and present a danger....Sorry about the cut and paste but I think this is very important....

Body found underneath dock in Franklin County
    Posted: Sep 28, 2012 6:33 PM CDT
    WINCHESTER, Tenn. -

Investigators are working to determine the exact cause of death of an Alabama man whose body was found in Winchester, Tenn.

Police responded to the call on Thursday evening just before 7 p.m. when a woman reported 39-year-old William Nolan as missing.

The woman told police that Nolan, her son-in-law, was going swimming after he finished jogging. After an hour, the woman became concerned.

Investigators said the woman found Nolan's clothes on the dock but could not find him anywhere.