HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question About Crappie Jig Trolling

Post Thanks / Like

Default out

out.
    Last edited by tool; 03-06-2005 at 09:51 AM. Reason: out

Post Thanks / Like

I'm a crappie newbie but I did a lot of trolling this summer. I used 1/16 oz feathered jigs w/minnows. They were on 4 lb line (thinner line will go deeper than thicker). I always kept my speed at less than 1mph, near .5 (gps). I also kept the boat in a circling pattern and mostly fished on the inside of the turn - thus making the jig go even slower.
    Sometimes when the bite was slow, I would put a small bb on the line about three feet up from the jig. THat seemed to help sometimes. Usually my jig was about 6-8 feet deep over 12 feet of weeds. Sometimes on the inside turn the jig would go to the bottom.
    More line out equals a deeper jig also. Bigger minnow will stay higher.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by tool
    I thought I saw a listing of the different weights of crappie jig heads and the depths that they tend to run based on weight and speed trolled. Does anyone happen to have any insight on this? The last time I went trolling I was pulling 1/16 oz jighead but I could run over 5-7 feet of water and they wouldn't bump the bottom. Based on my GPS I was running between .9 and 1.3 mph. I had good luck with catfish but no crappies. I don't think that my jigs were getting deep enough down.

What is the average weight jighead that most crappie trollers on this board run? I am considered trying 1/8 oz heads on my next adventure.
    best thing you can do is experiment with 1/8, 1/4, 1/16, and 1/32 oz jigs coupled with different line diameters and different boat speeds. you'll get the hang of it especially with the gps in hand to control boat speed. you can cover a whole lot of water trolling. to me it's the best way to fish, especially for the weekender who's not out there everyday.