Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Here! Some questions.

Post Thanks / Like

Default New Here! Some questions.

Hi folks. I'm new to crappie fishing. I live in an old housing development in south GA and many of the houses are built around six big ponds/lakes. Some guys catch several crappie out of these lakes in Feb/March, including the one I live on. I have a 10 ft Bass Hunter boat for fishing these lakes. Right now I don't know where the fish are, but I'm gonna start fishing deep for them as soon as I get my fish-finder mounted. Any thoughts or suggestions will be appreciated.

gabowman is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Cannot help you on the ponds but wanted to welcome you to the boards.:p
    Health nuts are going to feel stupid someday, lying in hospitals dying of nothing.

M R Dux is offline Crappie.com Legend , 2018 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Get some road-runners and rig a rod off each side. Set the trolling motor on low speed and have at it. I would keep a marker buoy close so when you hook up with crappie, you can mark the spot.
    www.crappie-gills-n-more.com
    Podunk Ideas Pro Staff /test platform
    PICO Lures Field Rep
    Excel Boats Pro Staff

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by mrdux View Post
    Get some road-runners and rig a rod off each side. Set the trolling motor on low speed and have at it. I would keep a marker buoy close so when you hook up with crappie, you can mark the spot.
    I agree, you can cover a lot of water doing that, pick one area in the lake and troll it at different distance from the shore line each time. You can also use different wght Road-runners on each side to vary your depth a little.

Welcome to the site!!!

Helicopter Pilot
    Vietnam 67/68
    Proud Member of the Southeast Asian War Games Team

Post Thanks / Like