Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Crappie Newbie and Lake Hartwell

Post Thanks / Like

Default Crappie Newbie and Lake Hartwell

O.K. Guys-
    I'm totally new to crappie fishing. When I say new, I've never been crappie fishing but this site has got me fired up! I mainly fish Hartwell (Tugaloo to be more specific) for hybrids/stripers and occasionally Lanier but I'm wanting to start buying some crappie gear and give it a try. I've got a 17' aluminum Lowe with a 50hp johnson and a pretty good 12/24 trolling motor. Additional gear on the boat includes: Eagle FishElite 640c on the dash, Lowrance Mark
    5X Pro on the trolling motor, 4 driftmaster duo pros (2 mounted on each side), and a 25 gallon insulated bait tank. All my tackle is geared towards striper fishing with the exception of 2 Bass Pro 5' or 6' (not sure) ultra lite rod/reel combos my two sons use for catching bream in our family pond.

What should be at the top of the list as far as gear? Also, what is the fall/winter fishing like on Hartwell? I've talked with a good friend of mine who crappie fishes on Lanier a lot and he tells me I have to learn how to shoot docks before he'll take me. He says I need to be able to hit a 5 gallon bucket every time from 30 ft. away. However, I'm wanting to learn to crappie fish so I can take my two boys (9 and 4) so I'm leaning more towards live bait.

papasage is offline Crappie.com 2011 Man of the Year & Moderator GA * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

welcom to the site cocdawg. don`t know anything about hartwell . i fish so. ga. lake blacksher mostley.