Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Proper Gear for a Crappie-hunter?

Post Thanks / Like

Red face Proper Gear for a Crappie-hunter?

I am brand new to crappie fishing, and could use some basic advice.

I have a pole and I have a reel plus a few bobbers. For a newbie such as myself with only a few bucks to spend, what are the absolute MUST HAVE's for a day at the lake?

For hooks, what size? For line, what weight? And for any plastic/fake bait - well, if you could attach a pic, that would be great! I am seeing words like crankbait and jig and spinners and I have no clue what any of that references!

As for the method itself - do you throw the line out and wait for the bob to get pulled or is this more the type of fishing where you are constantly throwing out the line and bringing it in and keeping things moving?

I am heading out tomorrow to see what the day brings, but any information to help me be better prepared would surely be appreciated!

Cane Pole is offline Crappie.com 2011 Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Dozen minners and a tote sack full of patience makes for a good day.
    Member BS Pro-Staff and Billbob Pro-Staff
    Proud Member of Team Geezer... authorized by: billbob and "G"

Post Thanks / Like

I agree with canepole. Fish the minnows around stickups, trees, stumps.
    PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER

Post Thanks / Like

Crankbait:

Jig:

Spinners:

As for hooks for live baits (minnows, shiners, etc.) probably a number 2 light wire hook.

You can fish all the fake lures by casting and retrieving them from the bank/boat and you can also cast the jigs under a bobber or float to control the depth that you run it.

The live bait can just be ran under a bobber. If you will be on a boat then that opens up a lot more possibilities. But if you don't want to buy a bunch of new equipment, then go get some minnows or whatever they have in your area and use those.