Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Unfair system gripes

Post Thanks / Like

Default Unfair system gripes

You know I am happy to know there are programs out there to help people in need. However I am equally upset at the way the system works and how it benefits some people who do not need help, but yet disqualifies or works against people who do need help.

I worked in the auto industry when it took the huge downturn. People were getting laid off and being offered buyouts. I was fortunate enough to be able to take a buyout. I will first state that I was not forced to take the buyout. However, not knowing how the market would end up and if the company did not get enough volunteers, the next possible move could have been a layoff with no money to the low seniority people.

I was stuck between a rock and a hard place. My wife had filed for divorce and pulled what i think is a bankruptcy fraud and filed all her divorce decree ordered debts on bankruptcy. Considering my name could not be taken off the notes, I was left responsible for all the debt. While I was working, I could not file bankruptcy because under the new laws I made too much to file a chapter 7. Due to not wanting to file bankruptcy and not knowing the future actions the company might take, I took the buyout money to pay off those debts and to try and go to school to find a more stable career.

The company has paid for my and my daughters healthcare for a year after my release from the company, however it is about to run out. I have been going to college to try and get a better job, however I have also put in several applications for jobs to try and get back into the workforce, but with no success.