Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help

Post Thanks / Like

Default Help

I am new to crappie fishing I have several questions.
    1: When should I use 1/16 or 1/32 oz jig.
    2: Does it matter what type of jig, round or ball?
    3. Most important, whats is the best way to tell your getting a bite. They bite so soft?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanx
    Love, what more can I say

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by mighty
    3. Most important, whats is the best way to tell your getting a bite. They bite so soft?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanx
    I almost always use the 1/16 oz. heads. Reason being, the waters I fish are never clear and I like to feel the jig when I tight-line (no cork). If I am fishing deep waters and I want the jig to fall faster I just add a split shot above the jig.

Again, because of our stained waters I do not pay to much attention to the head configuration. When fishing a jig I tend to use the ball type, when I fish a jig head with a minnow attached I use a longer torpedo type

I always watch my line. I can tell by watching it that if it does something unusual as it drops its a bite. (That's on the fall) On the rise you will feel a slight tap or feel a weight then the line moving to the side. And of course sometimes they almost take the pole out your hands.

With a cork most people will say that it just goes under the water. But to be honest I find most of the time the cork will rise from its normal position when the fish picks it up or it will lie flat on the water.

Good luck! Once you fished a while it will just come natural.
    I can't leave now; They fixen to turn on.

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like